Cart 0
Runs With Courage

Runs With Courage

$ 11.99

Ten-year-old Four Winds is a young Lakota girl caught up in the changes brought about by her people's forced move to the reservation. Set in the Dakota Territory, it is the year 1880. Four Winds has been taken away from her family and brought to a boarding school run by whites. It is here she is taught English and learns how to assimilate into white culture. But soon she discovers that the teachers at this school are not interested in assimilation but rather in erasing her culture. On the reservation, Four Winds had to fight against starvation. Now she must fight to hold on to who she is.

Author Joan M. Wolf has been writing since she was old enough to holdBook a pencil. She is both a teacher and a writer and has published books for teachers and young adults. Her award winning first novel, Someone Named Eva, addresses a little known aspect of World War ll. When she isn't teaching or writing, she is walking one of the 10,000 lakes in Minnesota. You can visit her website at: www.joanmwolf.com

Grades 4-7

Paperback, 224 pages

Publisher: Sleeping Bear Press, 2016 

ISBN: 9781585369850


Share this Product

More from this collection